Follow

Distribution Lists: Adding or Removing Users

This document will describe the proper procedure for adding users to an existing distribution list, or removing them.

 
Please note: Consider the following before proceeding.
 
  1. You must be the owner of a Distribution List in Office365 in order to complete these steps. If you are not an owner, please first contact the owner, or reach out to the Help Desk
  2. External email addresses must be added by the Help Desk as contacts before this process can be completed. If you are unable to find the email of the external user in Step 6, you must contact the Help Desk.
 
Help Desk contact information
(717) 732-8403
If you are an O365 admin looking to complete this step, please reference the proper article.
1.  Log in to Office Online
2.  Next, select the gear icon in the upper left (1). 

A new pane will become available on the right side of your screen. Click "Mail" (2)

3.  Expand the "General" heading (1) and click on "Distribution groups" (2)
4.  On the right side of the window, you will now see "Distribution groups I own". Click on the distribution group (1) to highlight it, then click on the pencil icon (2) to edit the group members.
5.  Click the "membership(1) heading, then click on the "+" icon (2) to select a new member.
6.  Warning: External email addresses must be added by the Help Desk as contacts before this process can be completed. If you are unable to find the email of the external user in the directory, you must contact the Help Desk.

Find the user in the Directory who you would like to add to the list (you can search for them using the search bar (1) ).

Next, click the "+" icon (2) next to the user's name, and ensure they show up in the "Members" bar (3). Lastly, click "Save" (4) to save your changes.

7.  Ensure your user is now showing up in the Members list (1) and click the Save button (2) once completed.

Removing a User

8.  Removing a user can also be performed on the membership screen. Simply select the user's name or email address (1) and then click the "-" icon (2) to remove the user.
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk